They say everything on the internet is almost permanent. Unfortunately, this might be true. The invention of virtually limitless memory storage may mean nothing will ever need to be deleted.
This fact is a double-edged sword; it could either be good or bad news depending on the person. Imagine being involved in a cyber-mishap like scandals or cyber-bullying. You might just want to quickly disappear on the internet.
Or perhaps you are getting tired of this so-called virtual life that you want to get away from it all permanently. What you would likely do is delete your social media accounts one by one.
However, what if you were signed in from other websites and social media accounts eons ago and could no longer recall what they are?
Thankfully, developers in Sweden make the task easier for you. They have created a website that can help you delete your online presence with just a few clicks. Dahlbo and Linus Unneback designed the website Deseat.me as a place for people to ‘clean up their internet presence.’
The deletion website created by Swedish developers would help you ‘disappear’ from the cyber world.
You simply need to login your email address and password, then scans all the websites you are signed up to. You will then be asked if you would like to delete or unsubscribe from them.
Dahlbo and Unneback also guarantee the privacy of their users seriously. That’s why the program runs on the user’s computer, rather than their servers. Thus, when you login, the only information they would get is what accounts you want to delete.
However, Deseat.me is still fairly limited because it only accommodates Google accounts at the moment. It already works with most major websites that users would be likely to have accounts with like Facebook, Twitter and Evernote.
This site is also a good way to check what websites you have unconsciously sync your Google account with. Keep note that you would no longer be able to retrieve those accounts once you have deleted them, so be careful when using the website.